Skip to main content


Remember the Lotus

Whenever you should doubt your self-worth, remember the lotus flower.  Even though it plunges to life from beneath the mud, it does not allow the dirt that surrounds it to affect its growth or beauty.  Suzy Kassem. The lotus flower is considered a sacred symbol.  The Lotus symbolizes purity, beauty, majesty, grace, fertility, knowledge and serenity.  The lotus will fluorish in murky waters, pushing through mud and mire.  The petals break through and reach toward the sun, while the leaves stay afloat as they shine in the light.

Symbolically, lotus petals can be found in the chakra symbols.  Each chakra has a specific number of petals, representing ascending vibrational frequencies.  The state of enlightenment is represented by the thousand-petal lotus.

** As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases at no cost to you.

(Affiliate Ad) **

What are Chakras?

Originating as a Hindu concept, "Chakra" (CHOK-ruh) is the Sanskrit word for "wheel", representing energy centers in the physical, mental, emotional and spiritual bodies.  These "wheels" of energy transmit life force (ki, chi or prana) to and from the body.  They are responsible for the mind, body, spirit connection.  The chakras influence an individual's emotions and thoughts.  At perfect health, each chakra is clear and balanced.

There are seven main chakras situated along the center of and passing through the body, running from the crown to the base of the spine.  They are:  the rood, sacral, solar plexus, heart (including the "high heart"), throat brow and crown chakras.  The chakras pass through the body along the spinal column.  The second through sixth chakras also pass through the body from front to back.

There are also minor chakras throughout the body.  The most commonly known minor chakras are in the palms of the hands and the soles of the feet.  The hand chakras are connected to the heart chakra and commonly used in hands-on healing.  The chakras in the feet are connected to the root chakra and are connected to "grounding" the body and connecting to the energy of the earth.

Maintaining a healthy chakra system promotes overall well-being.  Meditation, exercise, and energy-healing techniques (such as chakra balancing, crystal therapy or Reiki)** help to maintain balance in the energy system.  A healthy chakra will spin clockwise (rotating toward your left side), drawing universal life-force energy into the chakras to positively affect the body.  If the chakra is spinning counter-clockwise (rotating toward your right side), we "give away" our energy and will consistently feel "drained".

Imbalances within the chakra system are the result of life events and stressors which affect the energy body.  An imbalance in one or more of the chakras will produce different physical, mental, emotional and spiritual symptoms.

An imbalanced chakra "wheel" can be overactive, under-active, distorted, torn or completely blocked.  If one chakra is out of balance, typically the other chakras will be imbalanced as well.  Long-term imbalance in the Chakra System leads to dis-ease within the physical body and will be reflected in the subtle energy bodies collectively referred to as the "aura".

Many clairvoyants are able to see the "aura" either literally or within their "mind's eye", and are able to detect a disrupted flow of energy in the "aura" and chakra energy system.  The same is true for many energy healers.

From:  Chakras and Chakra Balancing

** As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases at no cost to you.


Popular Articles

Privacy Policy & Disclaimer

By using this site you agree with our site policies, including the use of cookies and affiliate advertising.

The information regarding various methods of EnergyWork provided through this website is intended for personal spiritual growth and is not intended for diagnosis of illness, nor as a substitute for medical or psychological care.

Contact Us


Email *

Message *